Search form


Share this post

Back to main

Indivisible Project Announces Endorsements in 24 Midterm Elections


July 25, 2018
Contact: Emily Phelps |

Endorsements From the National Grassroots Organization Follow Endorsements Made by Local Indivisible Groups in Each District or State

Washington, DC—Today, the Indivisible Project announced its endorsement of 24 new candidates federal and statewide office in the 2018 midterm elections.

“This year is unlike any midterm election cycle we’ve seen. An undeniable ‘blue wave’ of grassroots energy is putting progressive candidates over the top across the country in red and blue places alike,” said María Urbina, the National Political Director of the Indivisible Project.

“The Indivisible Project believes the candidates who can best take advantage of this wave will be those with deep local grassroots support, a commitment to listening to their communities, and the personal courage of their convictions. We believe the candidates we’re endorsing today have all those qualities and more.

“In a normal year, the usual party kingmaking structures might not have spotted some of these talented candidates. But local Indivisible groups did. Their work and commitment have already lifted these candidates. Indivisible groups have committed to canvassing, phone banking, and amplifying the work of these candidates until Election Day. We will be proud to back up their efforts with additional support.

“We are proud to say that all of these endorsed candidates affirmed their support for permanent protections for DREAMers and other undocumented immigrants, universal health care coverage for all Americans, and reducing the impact of corporate money on politics. By building these commitments into their platforms as they speak to voters, all of these candidates have already moved the ball forward for each of these causes and changed the political landscape of statehouses and the next Congress.”

To earn Indivisible’s national endorsement, a candidate must clear a tough three-stage process that begins with an endorsement and nomination by a local group. That nomination requires buy-in from local Indivisible group members at multiple points. A candidate cannot be endorsed without a strong platform and the enthusiastic support of informed, energized voters in their district.

The 24 candidates are:

  • AR-01 – Chintan Desai
  • AR-03 – Josh Mahony
  • CA-22 – Andrew Janz
  • CA-23 – Tatiana Matta
  • CO-03 – Diane Mitsch Bush
  • FL-GOV – Andrew Gillum
  • LA-03 – Mimi Methvin
  • MA-07 – Ayanna Pressley
  • NE-02- Kara Eastman
  • NJ-07 – Tom Malinowski
  • NM-01 – Deb Haaland
  • OH-05 – J. Michael Galbraith
  • OH-10 – Theresa Gasper
  • RI-Gov – Matt Brown
  • TN-GOV – Craig Fitzhugh
  • TN-02 – Renee Hoyos
  • TN-03 – Danielle Mitchell
  • TN-04 – Mariah Phillips
  • TN-06 – Merrilee Wineinger
  • TN-07 – Justin Kanew
  • TN-08 – John Boatner
  • TX-10 – Mike Siegel
  • TX-25 – Julie Oliver
  • TX-27 – Eric Holguin




About the Indivisible Project

The Indivisible Project is a registered 501(c)(4) nonprofit. Our mission is to cultivate and lift up a grassroots movement of local groups to defeat the Trump agenda, elect progressive leaders, and realize bold progressive policies. Across the nation, thousands of local groups are using the Indivisible Guide to hold their members of Congress accountable. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.