Share this post

Back to main

JOINT STATEMENT: Trump’s “Emergency” Is An End-Run Around Democracy

02/15/2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

WASHINGTON — The following organizations, working in coalition to reform and strengthen U.S. democracy, released the following statement:

“Donald Trump’s invocation of an emergency to justify a border wall is an attack on our democracy. It is an end-run around Congress, the democratic process, and the will of voters; it represents yet another step toward autocracy.

“This invocation of emergency powers with such clearly fraudulent justification is a dangerous precedent that could be used to justify almost limitless future abuses of presidential power, resulting in far-reaching harm to us all, especially communities disproportionately at risk.”

# # #

 

Media Contacts:

Indivisible Project, Emily Phelps, press@indivisible.org

Public Citizen, Angela Bradbery, 202-503-6768 abradbery@citizen.org

Democracy 21, Diane Alexander, 202-355-9600, dalexander@democracy21.org

League of Women Voters, Sarah Courtney, 202-263-1332, scourtney@lwv.org

Common Cause, Jay Riestenberg, 202-736-5741, jriestenberg@commoncause.org

People For the American Way, Derrick Crowe, dcrowe@pfaw.org

Progressive Turnout Project, Priyal Amin, press@turnoutpac.org

Clean Elections Texas, David Jones, david@joneslawdallas.com

Stand Up America, Zac Petkanas, zpetkanas@zpstrategies.com

Patriotic Millionaires, Sam Quigley, 202-446-0489, sam@patrioticmillionaires.org

Daily Kos, Carolyn Fiddler, carolyn@dailykos.com

Franciscan Action Network, Janine Walsh,  jwalsh@franciscanaction.org

End Citizens United, Adam Bozzi, adam@endcitizensunited.org

Truman National Security Project, Graham West, gwest@trumanproject.org

Open the Government, Ufuoma Otu, uotu@openthegovernment.org

Coalition to Preserve, Protect and Defend, Dennis Aftergut, da1.cppd@gmail.com  

Pride at Work, Jerame Davis, 202-637-5014, jdavis@prideatwork.org

Herd on the Hill, Stacey Stern Albert, salbert@herdonthehill.org

NETWORK Lobby for Catholic Social Justice, Lee Morrow, 202-601-7871, lmorrow@networklobby.org

CODEPINK, Medea Benjamin, 415-235-6517, medea.benjamin@gmail.com

Center for Media and Democracy, Arn Pearson, arn@prwatch.org

Sierra Club, Courtney Bourgoin, (248) 214-6682, courtney.bourgoin@sierraclub.org,

Our Maryland, Larry Ottinger larry@ourmaryland.org

National LGBTQ Task Force, Alex Morash, amorash@thetaskforce.org

Michigan Forward, Brandon Jessup, Brandon@upxmichigan.com, (734) 717-2745